Skip to content

Bad Blogger

November 18, 2013

That’s the blogger award I am giving myself.  I find it so easy to put the things I enjoy doing to the side when life happens.  Getting busy with everybody and everything else, and that’s the reason I didn’t blog for two weeks.  But I will say: my house is clean, my daughter’s closet has been sorted through, old clothes have been brought to the Salvation army and……the list goes on!

I did take my boys out last week and got some pictures of them with their new neck warmers and mittens, the ones that go with their hats from last year.

DSC_0045

The neck warmers are very simple, knit in ribbing in the round and I made them long enough to reach up to the ears when needed.

Thor took this picture of his brother:

DSC_0162

Both the hats and the neck warmers and knit in one size.  At first I thought I would make in two different sizes but I find that they fit both boys really well, and this way it will sort of grow with them…….which I always love because then I don’t have to knit another of the same again in a couple of years………..unless of course something gets lost………knock on wood….

And because Thor took a picture Othinn also had to take some of his brother:

DSC_0173

Nothing more to be said about that one:)

At first I was unsure if I should make a bib at the bottom of the neck warmer……I of course will never tell my boys that I call it a bib or they might decide never to were these again…….but I figured it would serve it’s purpose better if it had one, simply because neither one of my sons like to have their jackets zippered all the way up, so a bib will help keep their chest covered up.

DSC_0132

There is one in the back as well, just shorter.

When we first got to the park I wanted to take some pictures of Thor first with his new mittens.  Othinn wasn’t too happy to have to wait, but soon got distracted my all the beautiful leaves and branches lying around.  With in five minutes here’s what happened:

DSC_0068

So…..yeah, I only got to take pictures of him with one mitten.  We did rescue this one though, we managed to reach it with a long stick and then scooped it up out of the pond………..along with some duck poop I’m sure.

DSC_0138

They didn’t want their mittens the same, actually Othinn just wanted fingerleess gloves while Thor has always wanted me to knit him a pair that gave him options.  The fingerless are great for this time of year, and when it gets really cold, let alone if it ever snows, these will be perfect under another pair to keep him extra warm and cozy.  The plan is to knit Thor a pair of these as well……one of these days!

DSC_0089

It was important to me that the thumbs could also be freed, it just made more sense that he could get all his fingers out and about when needed.  But I didn’t want there to be an awkward “hole” on the thumb that stayed open.  To keep that from happening I knit a short ribbing that I sewed into the sides.  My worry was that it would become too bulky in that area but it actually worked out great.

And here they are, my two little boys who just keep getting bigger and bigger, and before I know it, they will be taller than me……….man that makes me feel old!

DSC_0113

The yarn I used for this set it Kambgarn, one of my favorites.  It is soft and warm, but I did hold it double to make it bulkier and even warmer.  I want to make more of these in different colors for them, it’s always good to have extra around in case something gets lost!

Next I will show you my lopi sweater………..yes, I finished it!  Until then,

Knit Away!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2013 2:52 pm

    fallegir drengir, fallegt prjónles, fallegar myndir 🙂

  2. November 18, 2013 4:15 pm

    Mjög flott og praktískt.
    Ég hló þegar ég sá vettlinginn í tjörninni, típískir strákar…

    • November 18, 2013 6:45 pm

      Ha ha ja, og eldri strakurinn minn gerdi nakvaemlega thad sama thegar hann var litill, og thad var lika vetlingur sem eg prjonadi!

  3. November 19, 2013 7:35 am

    Handsome boys and lovely photos!

  4. November 19, 2013 2:58 pm

    Your boys look so cute, they will really turn into handsome men when they grow up. Make sure they don’t break the hearts of too many women :-P. Hmm…so they don’t know that they are called bibs…lol…what if they read this blog :-)? Those look nice and cosy.

    • November 19, 2013 3:26 pm

      Well, they don’t read my blog so I get a way with it! 🙂
      I dont even want to think about any broken hearts, not ready to there just yet!

  5. November 19, 2013 6:49 pm

    Your boys are adorable, even when they’re losing hours of hard work in the pond!

  6. November 19, 2013 8:53 pm

    I love the ‘bib’ idea.

Leave a Reply

