Skip to content

Running out of time

October 31, 2013

This past spring I knit a few things for my best friends new baby boy……he is so cute that I can smell that delicious baby smell right through the photos I see of him ( she is all the way back home in Iceland…… 😦 )

Because I have way more yarn than any person could possibly need….won’t last me a life time or anything, so not that bad!……I decided to pick something I already had and make this special boy a sweater or two……..and maybe a hat…..and some booties.

The first sweater I made him was a striped cotton number:

2013-05-11 15.03.34

This one is really just very simple, I think what makes it are the buttons, they are too adorable.  I used baby cotton, definitely not my favorite yarn for endless stocking stitch.  It turned out a bit uneven and, yeah, well, I saw him in it and he made it work………..that kid is so cute I bet he could make anything look good!

Second one:

2013-05-09 19.39.46

For this one I used Fable by dropdesign that I bought years ago.  I meant to use it for my youngest son but then ran out of time because he just kept on growing and in the end I didn’t have enough yarn for his size.  But having it in my stash came in handy so it’s all good.

I really love this cardigan, it’s perfect for a little gentleman.  That type of collar is one of my favorites too, there is just something so cozy and……….I don’t know, gentlemanly about it!  And I was so lucky to find buttons that fit so perfectly!  I wasn’t sure what exactly I was looking for when I went button hunting, but there they were, the perfect shade of blue that goes so well with the colors in the yarn (they don’t look that great on this picture but they really are cute).

And the last one is a hat:

2013-05-09 19.43.02

This yarn is also Fable from dropdesign, I really like how it knits up, gives a pretty self striping pattern.  I made my youngest son the exact same hat when he was a baby and loved it so much that I knew I had to make this little man one too.  It wears very well, really covers their ears and it seems to just grow with them….which is perfect when you knit for fast growing babies!

I would love to make him another sweater, he is now 5 months so I’m thinking I should probably make it for 12 months.  Maybe I’ll come up with my own pattern, we’ll see, there are so many awesome baby patterns out there……..decisions decisions!

But before I start another project for that little man I’m going to finish some of the things I’ve got planned for now, like the mittens for my boys.  I’m actually done with one and a 1/2 and am hoping I’ll be able to finish tomorrow and maybe take photos on Sunday……I may be a bit too optimistic but, it’s good to set goals……right??

Then there is the Lopi sweater that I want to finish, hopefully I can pick that up again this weekend………….crossing my fingers!  Wish me good luck……..please!

If only I had more time, that is all I need, more time to knit so I can get more things done!  I always feel like I’m falling behind because there are so many ideas that I want to follow through with and…….time just keeps passing and it’s driving me nuts!  I’m going to stop complaining and start knitting…..

Knit Away!

 

ps. please excuse the photos, they were all taken on my cell phone…

pps. I did knit him little booties but, as you can see I knit in the car, and everywhere else I go, and I lost one!!  So sad cause I had finished both of them and all I had to do was sew the second one together……….there was not enough yarn left over to knit up another one…..

18 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2013 2:40 am

    Seinni peysan er rosaleg flott. Ég er mjög hrifin af svona “kallapeysum” á litla stráka, þeir verða svo fínir í þeim.
    Já, bara ef það væri aðeins meiri tími til að gera það sem maður vill gera en ekki bara það sem maður þarf að gera…

  2. November 1, 2013 6:14 am

    Awww..they are indeed cute, but the top is my favorite because of the color combination and the monkey-buttons. The blue buttons in the second picture are really going nice and yes, the sweater is both gentlemanly and would also make a woman lady-like if she puts it on. Very nice design. Ah! your best friend is lucky to have you. You should also perhaps start thinking of starting a knitting-class in NYC. You have so much talents.

    • November 1, 2013 10:12 pm

      I agree about the gentleman sweater! I have always wanted a cardigan with that kind of collar and I´m sure I´d look like quite the lady in it…….now I must knit myself one!

      Thank you for the compliment, it is very sweet of you. Perhaps now that my baby is getting older I can devote more time to knitting, and teaching others is always a pleasure:)

  3. November 1, 2013 9:37 am

    I agree about cotton yarn in st st. I’m never entirely happy with my stitches and prefer working in wool.

    I love, love, love that hat! I’ve been looking at hat patterns for my girls and I really like the ones with ear flaps and ties.

    • November 1, 2013 10:16 pm

      I prefer wool as well though cotton is good for many things it´s just not my favorite fiber to work with.

      Ear flap hats are a must for the little ones, those little ears must stay warm and cozy!

  4. November 1, 2013 2:05 pm

    I love all the colours. Funnily enough I was going to post what KL did – I’m sure you could teach some people to knit and make lots of money. 🙂

    • November 1, 2013 10:20 pm

      Thank you Eve! Lots of money would come in handy ;O) I’ve never been good at promoting myself though and think more along the lines of: what could people possibly want to learn from me!

    • November 1, 2013 10:32 pm

      Now that’s a TV show! 🙂 Some how, thinking of watching something like that makes me think of christmas…..I picture a tree and lights and it being cold out side and me sitting on the sofa knitting, x-mas music low in the background and that show on……perfect combo!

  5. November 1, 2013 5:30 pm

    You’re right, the monkey buttons make it. Absolutely adorable!

  6. November 2, 2013 2:39 am

    Loving everything but especially your gentleman sweater! The yarn for the hat makes it look like you’ve used a really intricate fair-isle pattern; very clever.
    After years of no babies around here ( all my friends have 12 year olds) I finally have an ex work colleague expecting. A perfect excuse for cute quick knits!

    • November 4, 2013 9:37 am

      Thank you Lucie 🙂 I am so in love with that sweater too, already I am thinking of other projects to make with that same collar. I can’t wait to see what you end up knitting for that baby! There are so many cute patterns out there that I have a hard time making up my mind…

  7. November 2, 2013 8:27 am

    Great projects, especially the cardigan!

  8. November 7, 2013 11:33 am

    Wish I had your magic hands. Wow, the cultures you stride, ILand to NYC! I grew up in NYC, went to Stuyvesant.

    • November 18, 2013 11:17 am

      Thank you Holistic Wayfarer:) Yes, I am far from home but there are actually many similarities between these two countries.

Leave a Reply

