Skip to content

Off to see grandma

October 28, 2013

A few years ago, actually (wow how time flies), quite a few years ago………don’t even want to go into that, am in a bit of a shock right now, I could have sworn it was just last year………well, any way…..

I knit my beautiful Bella a cape, it is red ( she still has it) and I made it with recycled yarn left overs from a sweater I knit.  I think it was some sort of cotton blend.  I always wanted to make another one in Icelandic lett lopi ( lopi light) and I managed to do that recently.

DSC_0679

I just LOVE that color, such a beautiful, true and vibrant red.  And the light, it was so perfect when I went out today.   I wished I had a  bunch of other knitted items to take pictures of, everything looked so crisp and the colors popped,  just beautiful!

DSC_0670

Hoods, I love them so much I can’t even leave them off the dog sweaters I knit.  I’m not sure what it is about them, they’re just so darn cozy and not to mention fun to knit……simple as that!  I mean just look at that face, doesn’t she look warm and cozy?!

There are people out there who feel it is ridiculous to dress dogs, they have fur you know, duh!  Well, I have hair and I still put a hat on, so duh right back at you!  My dogs get cold, so they get sweaters to wear, and since I’m making them I might as well make them completely adorable, right?!

I will admit that Bella wasn’t a fan of my sweaters.  The first few times I put them on she refused to move and just stood there like a log.  But she is also not a fan of cold weather or rain and she  hates snow .  But she doesn’t mind the sweaters now and she was actually a pretty good model for me today.

I did get a lot of these shots though:

DSC_0674

I mean, cute and all, but, just not what I was looking for….you know.  But my daughter came with us and helped me distract Bella so she stopped following me around and I was able to get pictures of her at different angles….thank goodness for my “little” helpers!  Love them!

DSC_0701

Seeing her run around in it today I decided that I will add a belt just behind her front legs.  Just to keep the cape from flapping up and down when she runs around.  It will keep her warmer too and probably more comfortable.

One thing I learned during the process of knitting this cape is that I suck at working short rows in the round, so much so that I put that whole idea to the side and knit that part of it back and forth.

My second turn always shows, I have tried a gazillion different short row methods and……….I gave up!  If I’m using a pattern that will hide the ugly part it’s ok, but plain old stocking stitch, forget about it!

I would love to hear from somebody who has figured this out and wants to share their knowledge with me! (pretty please!)

As far as the neck warmer I showed you in my last post, I finished it and knit up another, the second one is drying right now.  I think tomorrow I’ll start a pair of mittens to go with their sets……these small, quick and simple knits….pure joy!

Have a beautiful day and……

……Knit Away!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2013 3:18 am

    En sætt!

  2. October 28, 2013 6:57 am

    So cute!

  3. October 28, 2013 8:48 am

    These are awesome. So, cute. What size of dog do they fit? I absolutely love red for winter clothings. Do you make cape? Also, do you take orders at reasonable price? How much does this one cost?

    • October 28, 2013 8:58 am

      Thank you so much! I love red too, its so perfect for this time of year. I believe that particular one is for a dog with approx 10″ neck, ill have to check and make sure. The price will depend on the size that I knit, what size are you looking for?

      • October 28, 2013 10:56 am

        I will measure them in the evening, and I will let you know.

  4. October 28, 2013 9:25 am

    That is so stinkin’ precious!!! A belt is going to make her look like an adorable little fashonista dog. 🙂

    • October 28, 2013 9:29 am

      Thanks Cassy:) Considering that Bella is a total tom boy ( I just know, don’t ask how) she struts her stuff like a professional model in these pictures…. 😉

  5. Marion permalink
    October 29, 2013 1:24 pm

    I think I found a way to prevent holes when doing short rows. I tried to explain this with pictures on Ravelry. My Ravelry name is Marionv, look at the project Rainbow Wingspan.

    • October 29, 2013 1:39 pm

      Thank you so much for telling me Marion. Im going to take a look at it, im so exited now!

      • Marion permalink
        October 31, 2013 2:54 am

        I realised that my Wingspan is in garter stitch. When I do short rows in stockinette stitch I do it like this http://youtu.be/_yVikAvPuE4
        Cat Bordhi’s way. Hope it helps.

      • October 31, 2013 1:16 pm

        Thank you so much for taking the time Marion! I hope I’ll have time tomorrow to look through this, I can’t wait to see if I get these to work for me…..crossing my fingers! I’ll let you know how it goes:)

Leave a Reply

