Skip to content

Progress

October 25, 2013

When I pulled out my still in process knits for my last post, I decided not to put them away, to just keep them around, that way I am more likely to get to them when I have spare time.  And last night during a skype meeting with my dear friend Kristin ( :0) ), I grabbed the neck warmer I started last spring for my son and got a lot done………………then I tried it on him and decided I didn’t like it and ripped most of it out………but that’s beside the point, really.  It felt so nice just to sit there and chat and knit stitch after stitch.

It’s a small project and a quick knit, so just before I went to sleep (already in bed) I ripped it up quick and made the changes I wanted to make.  Here’s what I got done so far:

DSC_0660

It isn’t much of a progress I guess, but then again this is a small project and compared to what’s left I did get a whole bunch done, and that’s that!

I used one of my favorite yarns, Kambgarn.  It’s nice and warm and soft, I’m holding it double, as I did with the matching hat.  When this one is done I plan to make another for my younger son as well.

Then, last night  I remembered that, well………I had also knit up two more of these hats cause my boys really liked them……but I made them late in the winter and there was no real need for them so I never looked for visors to sew in.  But technically, since I finished knitting them and putting away ends and all that is left is sewing those visors in………..it’s not really a wip, is it?……….is it really?…….o man, and I had completely forgot about them when I went looking (not really looking cause I knew where they were all along) for my unfinished knits earlier this week.  The problem is, I have no idea where I stashed these other hats……I’m off to go looking for them!

Enjoy your weekend and I hope you get lots of knitting done!

Knit Away!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2013 4:29 pm

    I’ve never made a neck warmer like this before. Do you put buttons or something for a closure or is it a tube he’ll slip over his head?

    • October 25, 2013 8:54 pm

      Yes, I’m making this a simple tube. My boys don’t fuzz with their hair so they won’t be messing up no “hair-dos” slipping this over their heads. Very simple!

  2. October 25, 2013 6:01 pm

    I really like your that sunrise knitting (the one you have on the right side, yellow color). I want to buy it, will it fit me — I am short (about 5feet)? You really have some nice knittings. I am feeling like buying most of them, but I guess I will go slowly :-). Thanks.

    • October 25, 2013 9:05 pm

      What a nice comment, really made my day reading it, thank you so much:) Sunrise is given in two sizes, approx 15 x 65 inch and 21.5 x 83 inch. It is a very simple construction so you could easily make it shorter if you would like. I hoped that helped!

      • October 28, 2013 8:46 am

        I know it might be difficult for you to answer but which one shall I get, you think? I am not fat but at the same time not extremely slim (dress size 8) — usually petite small or petite medium — that’s what I go with.

      • October 28, 2013 8:54 am

        At 5 ” i think you could go with the smaller size, but of course it depends on how long you would want it to be on you. I would recommend that you take a measuring tape and see how long each size would be on you approx. And alao, this pattern is very straight forward and you can stop knitting after as many repeats as you want so you can try it on as you go.
        Hope that helped 🙂

  3. October 27, 2013 4:15 pm

    það er eitthvað svo dásamlegt við að sitja og spjalla með prjónana í hendinni… ég ætla að gera það sama þegar við hittumst á þriðjudaginn elskulegust! 🙂 fannstu húfurnar??

    • October 27, 2013 9:51 pm

      Hlakka til að hitta þið á Þriðjudag með prjónana í höndum! Húfurnar………..sko ég gleymdi að leita að þeim, gleymdi mér í prjóni! En ég er svona að fara yfir staði í huganum, nú ekki margir sem koma til greina………..þær koma í ljós………ohhh nú langar mig að fara að leita að þeim!

  4. October 28, 2013 11:01 am

    Hi there,

    I went to buy your sunrise — the yelllow one that we are discussion about. It didn’t give me the option to choose the size. Also, it is charging me only 5.50$. Shouldn’t you be also charging me for the shipping cost? I tried to buy it by clicking on that “buy now” button.

    Thanks,
    KL

    • October 28, 2013 11:05 am

      O hey, this is a knitting pattern that I am selling, not the actual shawl. I send those as downloadable pdf’s so there is no shipping cost.

      • October 28, 2013 1:39 pm

        Awww :-(. I was thinking that you are selling them to public. You should make those and sell and make a business out of it :-). I think they will be in demand. I think I should start learning to knit — did that in childhood but no longer. Then, get these designs from you. They are so nice.

      • October 28, 2013 4:30 pm

        Thank you :). I do have some items already knit up that I wouldnt mind selling but im having a hard time pricing things. I would like to make a profit and not give most my time away but Im not sure people would be willing to pay for it.

  5. October 28, 2013 5:49 pm

    Give it a try :-). You never know. I think the trick is to start with moderately average price (you make some profit but not much). Then, as demand increases or your site become popular, increase the price.

    • October 29, 2013 1:41 pm

      Thanks for the encouragement KL, I really appreciate it 🙂 im gonna look at what I have so far and give it ago…

Leave a Reply

