Skip to content

WIP (when in Paris??)

October 23, 2013

I see a lot of people talking about their wip (work in progress) or their ufo (unfinished object), and it’s usually mentioned as some sorta problem, like they  HAVE GOT to finish or……….or else I don’t know.  But every time I think to myself: “well, I have a few unfinished knits, but so what?  I don’t have a problem…….do I?”

It got me to make a mental list of things I haven’t finished………yet.  And I also thought of the reasons why, why are they still on the needles, why are they not done?  Another question is, do we HAVE TO finish everything we start knitting?

There are different reasons for why I start a project.  Somebody might need a hat.  Sometimes an idea for something fantastic comes to me.  Sometimes a yarn speaks to me.  And sometimes, sometimes I just really want to knit, and so I start.  And it soothes me and makes me happy and it ignites my mind and fills it with great ideas.  Because sometimes, just knitting, mindless unplanned knitting takes me places……sounds dramatic, I know, but it’s the truth.

I went looking for my unfinished knits, wasn’t hard to find actually…..hadn’t stuffed them too far or in too weird a places.

The first one up is an Icelandic wool sweater.  Years and years ago, my aunt came to visit and she brought enough yarn for 3 sweaters plus a book with beautiful patterns.  I can’t remember the name of the pattern I chose for myself and I can’t remember why I didn’t finish it.  All that is left to do is cut up the middle, knit one button border and sew it together, and voila, I’ll have my first Icelandic wool sweater ever! (I have knit them before, just not for myself) .   I think I may have put it aside to hurry up and knit my kids sweaters, I’m sure I meant to get back to this one right after….

DSC_0645

 

Then there is this, this…..well so far it’s nothing but a tube knit in the round.  This one I started this summer, I wanted to try out this yarn (the name escapes me at this moment) and I wanted to try out this pattern.  As I was playing with it, mindlessly knitting with no set plan, these ideas of a fun sweater begun to pop up, so I kept knitting and more ideas came to me.  I did not have enough yarn to make this into a sweater, plus what I had in mind wouldn’t work with what I had knit so far.  But the point is, I enjoyed spending time knitting this piece and it gave me so many awesome ideas (and it made me just plain happy), so I would never consider it a waste of time, nor do I feel that I HAVE TO finish this particular piece or make it into anything.  I actually plan to rip it all out and use the yarn for something else.

DSC_0649

 

And the third item, a neck warmer.  I made my boys a hat each last winter in this same grey tone, which I love by the way, and then closer to spring I figured I should make them neck warmers to go with them.  Now, the reason I didn’t finish this one yet is because it just got to warm and so I just put it away.  I never felt that I had something unfinished, to me knitting is a process that should be enjoyed and it’s better to put things away and leave them until you will enjoy knitting them again, be it a month or ten from then.

DSC_0650

 

 

Of course there are times when we have a deadline, be it one we set for ourselves or not……I mean, who want’s to get a Christmas present in June…..so we may decide to just push through a project we might not be enjoying at the moment.  But in general I knit for the pure enjoyment of knitting and creating.  I like the whole process to be guilt free and enjoyable!  Now, who’s with me???

Have a beautiful day and

Knit away!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2013 12:47 pm

    What a great way to think of your unfinished knitting projects. I will keep that in mind the next time I stumble across one of mine…hooray for guilt-free knitting!

    • October 25, 2013 9:55 am

      I think knitting should be a guilt free and happy process……..as often as that is possible! Glad to see people agree:)

  2. October 25, 2013 3:24 am

    Ég algjörlega elska þennan póst hjá þér. Er búin að lesa hann aftur og aftur 🙂 Ég er svo hjartanlega sammála þér með þetta allt- þetta er svo rétt hjá þér. Það að prjóna er process sem maður á að njóta í botn óháð því sem kemur út úr því.

    • October 25, 2013 9:53 am

      Mikið er gott að þekkja fólk sem er svona sammála manni! 🙂 En svona finnst mér að þetta eigið að vera eins oft og mögulega hægt er, ekki einhver kvöð og pína!

  3. October 25, 2013 3:27 am

    ps: hlakka til að sjá léttlopapeysuna þína í heilu lagi, kláraða´… líst vel á þessa liti hjá þér 🙂

    • October 25, 2013 9:59 am

      Takk, langar nú að klára hana fljótlega, svo rosalega lítið eftir……..en svo er að finna tölur….hmmmmm

  4. October 26, 2013 12:18 pm

    I’m glad you have WIPs too. Mine are usually because I have got discouraged at some point, and it’s very hard to get into a project again once you have stopped. Better to suffer along doing even a row a day.

    • October 27, 2013 9:46 pm

      I guess if a project takes more than a few hours we are bound to have wips, who can spend days on end just knitting………..well I’m sure some people get a change to do that but we’re not all that lucky!
      If you find a project intimidating or instructions hard to follow there can be an amount of suffering going along with the knitting for sure!

Leave a Reply

