Skip to content

Double digits!

April 7, 2013

DSC_0045

This past Thursday was my little man’s birthday, the big 10.  I cannot believe it, time went so fast!

Watching my kids grow up has been such a pleasure, not at all as hard as I thought it would be, you know, to see them become more independent and need me (and want me) less.  I’m actually enjoying this part of the journey immensely.  That’s not to say that I don’t miss the moments as they pass but I do my best to enjoy them to the fullest because they will never come back and because I want to create positive memories for both me and my kids.

I am extremely proud of this guy, he is the most decisive person I have ever met, always knows what he wants without a doubt………a quality I wish I had.  He is smart beyond his years and has a curious mind, I love it when he shares his ideas and thoughts with me.

He is going through that “don’t hug and kiss me in public mom” phase, so I make sure I get my fill when we are at home, one day he will move on and out and I better use every opportunity I have before they all pass.

For his birthday this year I wanted to make him a Mjolnir (Thor’s hammer) cake, it didn’t turn out as polished as I had pictured it.

2013-04-04 13.21.44

I wanted the hammer to look like it had been pounded into the ground, cracking the surface of the concrete.  Both the hammer and the bottom layer are covered with fondant.  I haven’t covered many square cakes with fondant and had a hard time getting the corners looking neat.  For the handle I used a cake dowel and wrapped thin strips of fondant to create the look of a leather handle.

Thor thought the cake looked great and that always encourages me to continue to make their cakes and practice:)

His brother wanted to help me out, but that wouldn’t have been so very helpful so I gave him his own cake to ice and decorate.  When I gave him a bowl of icing he looked at it, tasted it and then went: “do I have to put it on the cake?”

He would then dip his spoon in and go: ” this one goes in my mouth, this one goes on the cake”.  He really loved that icing and had his fill.

2013-04-04 08.54.57

He then painted the cake with some apricot syrup and rolled out his own fondant. We decided that his cake should have the birthday candles on it:

2013-04-04 13.23.41

He did a great job and his cake tasted delicious!

 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2013 11:07 pm

    I think Mjolnir look amazing! Both cakes, do actually (the little one is adorable).

    • April 9, 2013 12:20 pm

      Thanks kniterly:) Othinn put a lot work into that cake…….when he wasn’t busy eating the icing that is:)

  2. April 8, 2013 5:10 pm

    Both cakes look great! You did a great job with Mjolnir.

  3. April 9, 2013 1:32 pm

    So clever! I always wished my mother was more creative with cakes and costumes….

Leave a Reply

