Skip to content

O Brother!

March 26, 2013

DSC_0119

Finally I stop by after weeks of unintentionally ignoring my home in outer space.  Actually I have stayed away from th the www for the most part, haven’t even checked my emails!

Things have been extremely busy around here and the little bit of time I have had I have spent getting a bit of knitting done and hanging out with my kids.

Thor, my older son, asked me to knit him something, maybe a hat.  What for I said, will you ever wear it??  Sure, just not to school he replied, that’s not how we roll.

Well pardon me, but I didn’t know that 9 year olds roll!! 😉

DSC_0242

The idea for the hat came to me right away, something very simple and none fuss like, cause that’s the kinda guy he is.  Years ago I bought 2 identical machine knit hats for a $ each with the intention of ripping them up and using the visors for  hand knit hats. And now was the time to find them and tear them up!

DSC_0235

At first he wanted his hat blue, but I had this grey yarn that I was itching to knit with so I made my littlest man one first.  Thor loved the color so much that he wanted his in the same one instead of the blue.

DSC_0130

Knowing that there would be a problem of who was wearing what hat I put a little O (for Othinn, my littlest guy) on the inside of one of them.  And that will also eliminate any problems if one of them goes missing…….not an unlikely scenario :O)

DSC_0139

We walked to the playground and I meant to take a few photos of them wearing the hats before we got to playing.  But Thor got so into the whole thing, he had to put the hat on backwards too, keep his coat on and off and try the two different backgrounds.  It was fun seeing him so enthusiastic.  He really wanted to take the pictures of his brother, so I let him.

DSC_0184

He put a lot of thought into it, where he wanted his brother to stand, how he wanted the hat positioned on his head, what background to use, he even asked me to go get the stroller out of the way because he didn’t want it showing behind his brother in some of the shots.  I was pretty amazed at how he could think ahead like that and envision the photos before he even took them.  When I first started taking pictures I didn’t pay much attention to any of these things, and as a result most of them turned out not so great.

DSC_0259

He did an awesome job and I am happy to say that he asked to come along next time I have to take pictures and “help” me……..aka take the pictures for me 🙂  And that’s just fine by me.  He also told me that he would like a camera, just like mine, sometime soon……

DSC_0330

Othinn had a lot of fun making his brother’s “job” a little difficult.  He took his time doing what Thor  asked of him, there was always something he had to do first, like dig in the dirt with his stick.  I think he kinda liked the attention his brother was giving to him.  And I have to say that Thor surprised me because he had so much patience for his brother and just laughed at his little antics rather than get frustrated.

DSC_0337

When Othinn had enough of his photos being taken Thor wasn’t done shooting.  He had plenty more of ideas, he laid the hat on different surfaces to see how the photos would turn out.  This one was my favorite:

DSC_0275

For these O Brother! hats I used Kambgarn, one of my go to yarns that I happen to have plenty of:)  And I am currently knitting up a 3. hat in red for my littlest man and his brother wants another one in a gorgeous rustic orange…….he forgot all about the blue….

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2013 2:28 am

    Guðdómlega, guðdómlega fallegu drengir! En vá hvað þetta eru flottar myndir hjá honum! Sá er efnilegur… svakalega flottar myndirnar hjá honum! Þetta er greinilega hæfileiki sem þarf að rækta hjá honum. Þessi börn koma manni nú oft á óvart

    • March 27, 2013 8:34 pm

      Mér fannst þessi áhugi hans alveg aeðislegur, og ekki leiðinleg tilhugsun að fara með honum út að taka myndir:)

  2. March 27, 2013 11:06 am

    That’s fantastic. Maybe he will become a photographer…Nice hats too!

    • March 27, 2013 8:39 pm

      Thanks:) I hope he will stay interested in exploring with the camera, we had so much fun together!

  3. March 28, 2013 9:54 am

    So cute! And he definitely has a good eye. I don’t know about your boys, but having had three brothers growing up, I know that sometimes in the preteen/teen years they can be of the “everything is boring” or “I’m too cool for that” mindset. It makes it all the more awesome when you see them light up because they are genuinely interested in something.

    • March 29, 2013 10:09 pm

      Thank you, I think so too and hope that he will stay interested for some time. You may be right about them preteen and teen boys, but I think it goes for some of the girls too. I guess it’s just a part of growing up for some kids.

  4. April 1, 2013 7:58 am

    Your boys are so cute! Looks like Thor really got into the photography. Good for him!

Leave a Reply

