Skip to content

Happy Valentine’s Day!

February 14, 2013

DSC_0050

I like Valentine’s day, we don’t go nuts buying expensive gifts but we make sure we spend time together.  The kids usually make cards for us and each other and I make sure  to make something sweet.  Often I make a big breakfast, including heart-shaped muffins that we all indulge in.  But this year I went with a cake for after dinner, a Box of Chocolates (well, strawberries) cake.

My sister sent me this tutorial by bakerella and I just had to try to make it!  Hers is of course gorgeous in every way and mine, well, it’s not but, I did have fun making it and it tasted delicious!

There wasn’t enough time for me to look through recipes for chocolates to make, specially something that everybody would like.  And we already had strawberries in the fridge and chocolate chips, so I put those 2 together and made “a sort of chocolate covered strawberries” to put into the box.

I used one layer of chocolate cake with chocolate butter-cream icing.  Last week I ordered some red fondant online, not wanting to color a white one myself.  It didn’t get her until this after noon and so I had already went out and bought some Wilton’s from a local craft store.  It really did not taste good at all but I didn’t want to peel it off to then put the new one on.  We just didn’t eat it when we dove into the cake, well except for my little guy, that was the only part of the cake he really ate!  He thought it was delicious.

So now I have 2 pounds of red fondant, it will come in handy later though………I’m sure:)

I hope everybody had a beautiful day!

P.S. I will have something more on knitting soon, I have just been a bit sad for the past couple of weeks, and when I’m sad I cannot knit.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2013 5:14 am

    Svo falleg kaka & knús til þín Jóhanna mín. Ég er viss um að litlu krútt-einhyrningarnir komi til okkar í næstu viku!

  2. February 15, 2013 1:47 pm

    Aw, I hope you feel happier soon.

    Sounds like you had a good Valentine’s Day though 🙂 and the cake is super cute.

Leave a Reply

