Skip to content

Arrival of a new Man

January 25, 2013

My oldest friend on the planet is expecting her second child this spring. She is having a boy this time, I am so excited for her and I can’t wait to meet him!

I of course wanted to knit something for him and I started with this little hat:

DSC_0061

I had such a hard time getting decent pictures of the hat.  It wasn’t easy, and not that fun, without a model, but I don’t know anybody who has a tiny little head anymore….

DSC_0066

This is my own pattern, Cute as a Button.  Last time I followed it was a few years ago when knitting my youngest son one of these.  The pattern gives instructions for stripes but I wanted this hat in a solid color.

I love the yarn over details across the top, so simple but yet it adds a little something something to the hat.  And then of course there is the little button, unbutton it and voila!  You’ve got a different shaped hat with a little elf top and it magically fits a bigger head.

The button I went with is very plain, guess I could have gone a little crazy and picked something more playful, maybe a some fun design or something.  But I chose a plain brown one, could be kinda boring to some, but I find it very……..trying to think of a word here…..gentleman-ly?…. that would sorta describe it I think!

DSC_0075

I used the same yarn called for in the pattern, Kambgarn.  It is lovely to work with and gives a beautiful shine to the finished product.  It is not machine washable, that  would be the only down side to using it for baby clothes I think.  Other wise it is  relatively soft and being 100% wool, very warm.

I haven’t knit any baby stuff for a long while, simply  because there aren’t any babies around me.  But there is something about knitting baby clothes that is so appealing to me.  Maybe it’s how quick it goes, the whole instant gratification thing.  And then of course they are just completely adorable!

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2013 12:16 pm

    There is always so much stuff for babies in knitting books, I guess because they are such small patterns and not too fitted. I’m sure he will look very handsome in this.

    • February 14, 2013 10:14 pm

      There are way too many cute things for babies! If only I had time to knit them all 🙂

      This little man will look cute in anything I’m sure, but I can’t wait to see a picture of him wearing my little hat!

Leave a Reply

