Skip to content

Christmas knitting

December 22, 2012

I have been working on some more Christmas knits this week and I’m really enjoying these quick little knits:

DSC_0024

These are fingerless mittens, the quickest kind too, which is perfect because I’m knitting up 5 pairs of these little babies.  My daughter asked me to make something she could give to her friends for Christmas.  At first I was thin king hats, but time just kept passing and I only started a couple of days ago so quick fingerless mittens it is!  (I only got 2 more pairs to make and then to make cat faces on them……will be going at it today! 🙂 )

Here is a hat I am also working on:

DSC_0033

I work a lot with lopi, Icelandic wool, for many reasons, one of them being that I love it!  But I chose to use something else for these little things I’ve been making lately.

A few years ago I was fortunate enough to get a bag full of beautiful yarn from a fellow knitter who wanted to get rid of some stash.  I get a  little weird when it comes to yarn, I’m afraid to use it because I think I might come up with something even better to use it for……..it’s a strange thing I know but I’m working on it.

I decided I’d use some of it for my christmas knitting this year, it wasn’t easy initially but once I just made up my mind that was it and it felt great!:!!

For the mittens I used Manos del Uruguay, handspun wool, and for the hat I’m using Classic Elite, 50% llama and 50% wool.  The llama and wool blend is a dream to work with, love how it feels and the halo of fuzz that it creates……it’s gorgeous.

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2012 11:39 am

    I love how you say quick – it would take me forever! Have you ever seen a free pattern for an Icelandic flag cushion cover?

    • December 22, 2012 9:28 pm

      No no, I promise you these really are quick! The most amount of stitches on the needle are around 30 and it´s knit in the round……takes no time at all!

      No I haven´t seen any patterns of a flag cushion cover…..but it would be VERY easy to do with out a pattern. Do you know how big the cushion is you are planning to cover?

      • December 23, 2012 4:17 am

        I think I need to get a new cushion that is a bit more square than what I have. Let me sort out that plus yarn and come back to you. Thanks for your help. 🙂 Can’t believe I am still such a beginner knitter.

      • December 24, 2012 1:58 pm

        No problem! You get everything you need ready and I’ll do my best to help you get that cushion done:)

        It doesn’t matter if you are a beginner or advanced knitter, as long as you enjoy it:)!

      • December 25, 2012 3:15 am

        Thanks so much. I think 100 grams of lopi (or lopi lett?) in each colour will be enough for a normal size cushion?

      • December 25, 2012 4:36 am

        It very well might be but I’m not sure, maybe get a skein more of each just in case? Better to have left overs rather than run out of yarn.

      • January 8, 2013 1:56 pm

        I could use a cushion that is 43 x 43 cm, or for the pattern is it better to have a cushion that is longer and not square? By the way I have a box of Hraun Bitar for you for helping me if you are happy to send me your address. 🙂

      • January 13, 2013 4:41 pm

        Hey there, sorry for getting back to you so late, have had some family emergensies to deal with over here.

        I think the shape of the cushion matters only if you want it to have a more realistic look. And if that’s what you want I would get a rectangle shaped one.

        oooohhhhhh I would love some hraun, we would fight over that box and it would all be gone in a minute!

      • January 14, 2013 1:42 pm

        OK, let me rethink and get something rectangular and I’ll email you the dimensions so as not to take over your blog. 🙂

        Hope all ok with the family.

        You can use the Hraun for bribing them but I would keep all to myself if it was me!

      • January 16, 2013 4:50 pm

        Ok, just send me a line and we’ll get this thing started:)

Leave a Reply

