Skip to content

silence

October 21, 2012

I have not posted anything new for a long while.  I was having serious problems posting blogs, it took me up to 3 hours just to get a couple of pictures and a short text onto my blog.  My last post, 4 months ago really tested my patience……well actually it sucked what I had left of blog related patience right out of me.  In the end I just gave up, posted what I had without even finishing the post……

But now, I’m using another computer and things are looking much better (7-9-13 = knock on wood).

I spent the last 4 months with a lot of wool and did a lot of knitting.  But, I do not have any pictures at this point but hopefully soon.

I also took my kids back home to Iceland to visit friends and family.  We spent 3 weeks there and still, not enough time to do everything I wanted to do.

My daughter turned 13 while we were there, this was only the second time she celebrated her b-day in Iceland……last time was her 1. birthday…..now that was a while ago!

I made her a lemmon cake (that’s what she wanted this year).  My sister decorated the cake.  We decided it should be a stage with her singing cause that’s her favorite thing to do.  Here’s what my talented sister came up with:

Here she is, newly 13, writing one of her best friends a post card while resting at a coffee shop down town (the glasses were a b-day gift from her littlest brother, when he saw them in the store he said they were the perfect gif….and for her they certainly were):

We took a day trip to Þingvellir, Gullfoss and Geysir.  My best friend came with us and she was totally spent after a whole day with me and 3 kids ranging from 3 years old (the loudest of all) to a 13 year old (who tends to be a bit moody at times)…….it was great!;)

On our way we stopped to make one of these:

Varða, that´s what it´s called in Icelandic, it´s just a pile of rocks but back in the day this is what people used to do.  They would pile them up periodically so that they would be able to find their way back more easily by following the piles back……clever idea.  Here´s the one we did:

Then it was the beautiful Þingvellir, I think I could liver right there:

Then on to Geysir, it doesn´t matter how often I go there it´s always fun to see!  The  last time we went there my older son was only 5 and didn´t remember much from that trip.

This time the kids made sure they were in just the right place to get sprayed with the water…….while every one else ran off……being a kid is so much fun!

And last but not least, beautiful Gullfoss, my most favorite waterfall in the world:

I love being so close to it, feeling the incredible power of the waterfall.  It is so easy to explore the beauty of nature in Iceland.  It’s like everything is right at your fingertips, so many places to see in only one day………I miss that……….and I love it!

And I’ll end with a picture of the cake I made for my daughter when she had a little pre birthday party for her friends before we left for our trip to Iceland:

It was a movie themed party so the cake was a bucket of popcorn.  I used tiny marshmallows for the popcorn, it was a simple and fun cake to make.

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Meximissus permalink
    October 21, 2012 10:55 pm

    I’m so happy to see you back. I often come and check on your blog to get inspired by your work, and I ws wondering why you didn’t post anymore. Actually today, earlier on, I was here, maybe at the time you were posting.

    Your daughter is so beautiful and so grown up. . I have also 13 year old granddaughter, and she is taller than me now. Time flies. Your sons are so cute too, all your children seem to get along pretty well, but don’t be surprised, if your daughter gets moody at times too..( it passes)

    Good ideas for the cakes. I wouldn’t intent to make one like the one your sister made. but I might give it a try to the popcorn one. , it sounds as if you had a great time in Iceland with your family and friends.

    Iceland is a beautiful country, to which I didn’t pay too much attention until I started visiting blogs. Not travelling blogs, but knitting blogs.

    All the best
    Meximissus

    • October 22, 2012 2:26 pm

      Thank you for the lovely complements Meximissus. We did have a great time in Iceland, my kids love it there!
      It is good to be back to blogging and nice to know that you were stopping by now and then:)

      I have never made cake figures from fondant, but playing around with fondant is fun, you should give it a try!

  2. October 22, 2012 4:05 am

    Gaman að þú ert snúin aftur í bloggheima – ég hef saknað þín! 🙂 Kökurnar ykkar systra eru æðislegar – þið eruð nú meiri kökugerðarsnillingarnir! Og myndirnar frá Íslandi voða fallegar. Til hamingju aftur, með fallegu og þolinmóðu stelpuna þína! Knús!

    • October 22, 2012 2:29 pm

      Hæ Kristín….vabba vabba…..gaman að vera komin aftur!!! Og þvílíkur léttir að vinna með aðra tölvu þar sem allt tekur ekki tíu tíma:) Takk fyrir falleg orð dúllus.

  3. October 22, 2012 11:46 am

    I love both the cakes! Your sister is as creative as you. I’m glad you had a great trip to Iceland.

  4. October 22, 2012 3:49 pm

    Welcome back! And lovely pictures. 4 months well spent 😉

Leave a Reply

