Skip to content

Knit Tag

May 15, 2012
Helene Magnusson, a great Icelandic knitter, tagged me.  Here are a few knitting questions I´ll answer:
1. Are you always happy with your FO’s?
2. Are you sometimes so disappointed that you frog everything and start a new project? Why? Color? Yarn? Making? Too small? Too large?
3. Do you wear your knits or do they end up at the bottom of a cupboard? If so, why? How do they age after being washed and worn?
4. Do you always make a swatch? (maybe it should have been the first question, lol ?!)
5. Finally, would you rather work with some yarns you know well rather than others to avoid bad surprises?
1.  No, I’m not always happy with them but as the years go by I seem to have less problems with my FO´s than I used to.
2. No not really, if it´s not turning out the way I wanted it to I usually keep going until it does.
3. I do wear my knits.  I work a lot with icelandic lopi so they age wonderfully.
4. No I don´t always make swatches, sometimes I just start knitting and most the time it takes me somewhere I like to be:)
5.  I do like trying out different yarns, but there is something about the icelandic lopi that I love.  I don´t know if I keep choosing that particular yarn because I am so familiar with it, I have asked myself that question before and the truth is, I don´t have an answer.  I just love it, love how it turns out and how versatile it is.
Now, I would like to see what Kristín, Rod, Heidi, Erin and Teresa have to say 🙂
10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2012 7:17 pm

    En sniðugt og skemmtilegt! það verður gaman að pæla í þessu… gæti ekki verið meira sammála þér með íslensku ullina.

    • May 15, 2012 7:50 pm

      Já það er það! Íslenska ullin bara rúlar!:) Og nú þarf ég ekki að senda þér skilaboð um þetta:)

  2. May 15, 2012 10:45 pm

    Thanks for thinking of me!

    Challenge accepted 🙂

    http://kniterly.wordpress.com/2012/05/15/knit-tag/

  3. canarysanctuary permalink
    May 16, 2012 10:46 am

    Hey! I’ve replied on my Rav Group here: http://www.ravelry.com/discuss/canaryknits/topics/2147212

  4. May 16, 2012 4:25 pm

    That like some fun questions…but I can tell you on #3 I always wear my knits! I have so much that most of my closed is full of my knits…to the point where I sometimes wish I could just go buy something already made for a change. However I am proud and love wearing all my stuff….and yes I do have a great big smile when I get told “Look at her and where did you get this nice ……?” or “can you make me one too”

    So with that…I have to tell you, Your daughter looks so pretty in all your knits too. love that Foon…and the ODD. My Kyrrd I made into a pillow but one day I will make that shawl again too. Just have to make sure I have lots of yarn not like the last time…

    • May 18, 2012 10:05 pm

      I wish my closet was full of hand knits!! I have to practice knitting faster!;) And it´s so true, it feels great when people comment about the knits we were.

      Thank you so much for the compliments!! Can´t wait to see your Kyrrð all knitted up one day:)

      • May 19, 2012 7:56 am

        Hi there well with the Kyrrd you will have to wait a little but just bought your Foon the other day so hope to cast that one on sooner then later

      • May 21, 2012 4:47 pm

        When ever you end up knitting it it´s going to be beautiful! And I can´t wait to see your Fönn!!

Leave a Reply

