Skip to content

Kleinur and…..Love Balls???

June 16, 2011

Independence day is tomorrow, Friday the 17.  So, a while ago I begun to prepare, had to have some icelandic food to offer my kids on this special day!  When my mom came to visit us last month I asked her to bring hot dogs, remúlaði, steiktan lauk, and harðfisk.  I can´t for the life of me figure out why I asked for the hot dogs when she could have brought a leg of lamb, or even hangikjöt (smoked lamb)!!!!!!  My mind must not have been plugged in that day!  But, my kids are excited about having icelandic hot dogs so all is good.

I also wanted to prepare some other foods like kryddbrauð, kleinur, pönnukökur and skyrkaka…….mouth watering right now….  But it´s only the 5 of us so no way we would manage to eat all this in one day!

So, yesterday I made the kleinur and ástarpungar (love-balls…………any body got a better name for it in english???)   I of cours had my little helper with me:

He cannot keep his little hands out of the mixing bowl, he thinks he´s so slick:

 

 

I have been making these for the past years, and every year they look and taste worse than they did the year before.  I´m not sure what it is, maybe because I expect them to not turn out so great……  This year someone, won´t say who, managed to add some extra baking soda into the bowl…..about 2 times what was needed…….so they had this aftertaste that wasn´t too great.

The dough is rolled out, then cut into diamond shapes:

And then a small opening is cut into each shape and then each diamond gets twisted:

Then  they are deep-fried:

A few of them turned out edible, the rest I threw out…..just as well I guess……better luck next year!:)

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2011 2:09 pm

    Það er nú gott að vera með svona flottan hjálparkokk! 🙂 Þetta hljómar ekkert smá girnilega hjá þér… langar bara að fara að baka þegar ég les þetta! En það er eitthvað so sorglegt og fyndið um leið, að kleinurnar verði verri með hverju árinu! Ertu alltaf með nýja og nýja uppskrift? Ég skal reyna að grafa upp eina góða fyrir þig…

    • June 16, 2011 3:49 pm

      Nei nei, þetta er gamla góða uppskriftin frá henni langömmu minni og hún var kleinusnillingur! Ég held að það sé bara attitúdið hjá mér, geri einhvern vegin ráð fyrir því að þær verði ekki mjög góðar og kannski vanda mig þá minna við þetta……….og svo finnst mér líka eitthvað svo ógirnilegt að djúpsteikja þær, missi alltaf hálfpartinn list þá. En, ég er alveg hörð á því, á næsta ári skulu þær takast betur!!

  2. June 16, 2011 3:25 pm

    I see you made ​​good donut miammmmmmmmmmm
    it is over your adorable

  3. haddy permalink
    June 20, 2011 8:32 am

    ekki veit ég nú hver hefur sett auka lyftiduft hummmm hehe aaaa ekki mjög girnilegt þetta með djúpsteikinguna en best að hafa nóg af eldhúspappir til að leggja þær beint á dregur í sig fituna þær verða fínar næst ömmukleinur svoooo góðar

    • June 20, 2011 9:35 pm

      Nei ég get bara ekki ýmindað mér hver hefur getað laumað þessu þarna í skálina! Já ég verð að vanda mig betur næst, skal gerast á næsta ári, þá verða þær ljúffengar!

Leave a Reply

