Skip to content

Frugal

April 8, 2011

Yesterday morning I made way too much oatmeal for breakfast.  My kids are not big fans of reheated oatmeal……..I don’t blame them……and I didn’t want to throw it out, seamed like such a waste!  So, I thought of my great-grandmother Anna Guðrún (aka amma á Nesi, kleinu amma and amma Anna).  She used to make lummur, they are a bit like pancakes, and from what my mother told me she would make the dough with what she had on hand, oatmeal being one of those things.  I figured I should give it a try and these muffins did turn out really good!

If you happen to have cooked oatmeal that you don´t know what to do with, you might want to try out this recipe:

1 stick butter (I ran out of coconut oil, so I only used butter)

1/2 cup agave nectar

2 eggs

2 cups cooked oatmeal

1 cup flour ( I use spelt)

2 tsp baking powder

raisins (about 3/4 of cup or so, depending on how much you like them)

cinnamon (I like a bunch in there, if you’re not a big fan you might want to stick with 1 or 2 tsp)

Mix everything and bake at 350F for about 25 min.

 All done!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2011 3:34 pm

    þær líta rosalega vel út þessar og Othinn er svo guðdómegur! 🙂 Góða helgi!

  2. April 8, 2011 4:03 pm

    Hann er Othinn er algjör dúllurass í vindi! Þær voru nefnilega góðar, átti alveg eins von á því að þær yrðu ekkert spes….

    Góða helgi sömuleiðis!;)

Leave a Reply

