Skip to content

To the Batcave

April 4, 2011

There was a birthday today, and so there was a cake made……batman cake cause my son is into the old Batman shows now.  The baking process began Saturday, and I got a lot of help:

Mommy´s

little

Helper.

Sunday I tinted some icing and cut out and painted the decorations……..and put the chocolate ganache on:

The picture was taken before I finished hot-knifing it and cut the overhang off the edge .  I bought a book last year called  Planet Cake.    It´s a excellent book with very helpful and easy to follow instructions.  It also has pictures of some incredible cakes that  are very inspiring to look at.  My cakes are simple compared to those in the book and not as great looking, but they taste good and are so much fun to make!

To  make this cake look somewhat ok I knew I had to go with a simple design.  I wanted to make the Batman sign on top but I didn´t know what color I wanted the cake to be.  So I googled and found a whole bunch of awesome looking cakes, including the one I used as a guide for mine: Batman-Cake.

Oh, and I´m still knitting…….. 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2011 12:02 pm

    Vá! GEGGJUÐ kaka! Og barnið guðdómlegt! 🙂 Til hamingju með barnið – eða var það annars ekki barnið þitt sem á afmæli?

    • April 5, 2011 12:25 pm

      Takk Kristín. Jú, sonur minn var hvorki meira né minna en 8 ára…………..trúi því ekki ennþá!

  2. haddy permalink
    April 11, 2011 2:57 am

    kakan meiriháttar tekist alveg rosalega vel hjá þér

  3. May 4, 2011 6:34 am

    Vá! Þetta er ekkert smá flott kaka!

Leave a Reply

