Skip to content

Milk-Chocolate Muffins

March 27, 2011

I usually make muffins a few times every week, mostly to have as breakfast with a smoothie, or as a snack at school.    I make these without sugar, but instead I use agave nectar to sweeten them a bit.    I began substituting sugar with agave in my baking last year and I absolutely love it!  I also use coconut oil instead of butter, most the time though I use about half  the butter and half coconut oil,  I find it so darn expensive!

One of our favorite muffins are apple and cinnamon, with a extra dusting of cinnamon……..so good.  But last week I made these milk chocolate muffins and they turned out moist and yummy. I did use some brown sugar because it fits so well with chocolate.  But I would love to try them with maple flavored agave instead of the sugar……. I´ll put that on my list of things to do!;)

 I figured I´d share the recipe in case you´d like to try it:

3/4   stick butter

1/3 cup coconut oil

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup agave

2 eggs

1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups flour ( I use spelt)

1/2 cup whole flour (also spelt)

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

3/4 cup butter milk

1-1 1/2 cups milk chocolate chips

Mix butter, oil, sugar and agave until light and smooth.  Add the eggs and mix well.  Add vanilla .  Add flours and baking powder and mix.  Add the butter milk and mix, then add the chocolate chips and mix them in just so.

Bake at 350 F, for about 25 minutes, or until a skewer inserted in middle comes out clean.

Enjoy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. haddy permalink
    March 28, 2011 6:39 am

    ummmm svooooo girnilegar þessar ég er svo hrifin af muffins ummm allskyns ætla að prufa þessar við tækifæri

  2. March 28, 2011 1:20 pm

    mmmmm mig langar nú bara að bíta í þessar! 🙂 Ótrúlega girnilegar!

Leave a Reply

