Skip to content

Esja

February 27, 2011

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Esja is my favorite mountain in the whole world.  When ever I have been away from Iceland for a little while I miss her.  I alway imagine that I can bend over her and give her a big hug.

Maybe I was a giant troll in my previous life and am simply having flash backs!

 

The left side shows the top of the mountain while the right side shows the hill down, but not all the way down to the bottom. I wanted to knit something that makes me feel like I have her right here with me, and now I have.

 

Esja is knit in plötu lopi (unspun Icelandic), one ply.  I love working with Icelandic wool and I love the outcome!

It´s warm without being bulky so I can tuck it inside my coat if I want.

 

 

  

 

 

Again I used parts of old worn out dog leashes.  These things really do come in handy, I´m glad I decided to keep this stuff when I really didn´t know what I was going to do with it.  It is on the heavier side for this fabric so I might end up taking it off and putting a light weight button on instead.  But then again, I might just keep it on.  The hood is long and roomy, so it´s not actually pulling on it.  It sits in it´s place, without causing too much  trouble.  So we´ll see….

The whole piece is worked back and forth from the top down; knit one row, purl one row. 

I used a very interesting wrap stitch to add some more texture, I love the way it turned out.  It is so simple to do and yet it does so much for the fabric.  It reminds me of little rocks rolling down the hills.  And the yarn; so  alive, so much nature, perfect for this project!

Race you to the top!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. haddy permalink
    February 28, 2011 4:23 am

    hæhæ það held ég esja hafi tekist með ágætum hjá þér kona góð flott og örugglega mjög hlý og þægileg ummmm

  2. Kristín permalink
    February 28, 2011 9:30 am

    Frábærlega skemmtilegt að sjá nýtt verk frá þér! Þessi flík finnst mér virkilega flott – til hamingju með þetta. 🙂 Ég skil vel að þú skulir sakna Esjunnar okkar.

Leave a Reply

