Skip to content

6 sweaters in 6 months

February 25, 2009

An old classmate of mine asked me if I could knit a few sweaters for a photography project he was working on.  He wanted 6 sweaters and asked if I could have them done in 6 months.  I started working on them right away, using only materials I already had.  The most time consuming part was ripping up old sweaters and cutting down t-shirts, but it was a lot of fun and definitely something I would do again.

Bella:

bella

Bella is made from left over Lopi that I had from 3 or 4 different traditional Lopi sweaters I had made.   She was knitted in once piece from the hood down, you have to look closely to see the hood…..glimpses of it on the right (her right) side.  I love her extra long sleeves!   They sorta remind me of bells, which made me think of our dog Bella.

 

Anna:

edda

I had some off white wool left over from a sweater I made a few years back for my daughter.  I ripped apart an old wool sweater my husband found up in the attic (hadn’t been worn for years).  I used the blue yarn from that sweater and the left over wool and knit with 2 strands.  Anna is also knit from top down and the ”pockets” are just openings and not actual pockets.  I remember calling her something else when I was knitting her, but I cannot remember what it was.  I now call her Anna which is my aunts name.

Már:

gudny

We had a bunch of old black t-shirts that we didn’t really wear.   I cut them into strings and rolled them up.  I found this old belt and cast on from there and knit up to the neckline.  I used big sized circular needles, 2 of them broke………the 3. one lasted from about the middle to the top.  It was a little hard on the hands, but not that bad.  The worst part was cutting down the shirts, little particles of fabric were all over the place, I was covered in it as well…..but it was a fun process, and even though I swore at the time I would never do this again, I think I just might……

 

Haddy:

haddy

An old cotton blend turtleneck was ripped up to make Haddy.  She is knit in one piece from top down.  When I first saw the picture she reminded me of  a sweater my mom had years and years ago.  Every time I look at it I think of my mom and that´s were the name comes from. Haddy is my mother’s  nick name. 

 

Hafsteinn:

hafsteinn

The dark blue color is the same wool yarn I used to knit Anna.   The other 3 colors are the same wool yarn from that same old sweater.  Hafsteinn is knit in one piece from one sleeve to the other.  He reminds me of the ocean, that’s why I call him Hafsteinn: Haf= ocean and steinn=rock/stone.

 

Lykkja:

lykkja

I had an old sweater I hadn’t worn in years, it was over sized, button down and  made with silk/wool blend yarn.  After taking it a part I knit Lykkja.  She is also knit in one piece from the top down.  I started with the rib in the neckline, folded it over and knit through 2 stitches at a time to double the neckline.  I named her Lykkja because of the unraveled stitches here and there.

 

All photos in this post were taken by Oddvar

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2009 5:56 pm

    Wow what a project!
    Great sweaters and great photos!! Really unique sweaters – even more special since they had a life before this one…. 🙂

    Mjög töff!

  2. February 28, 2009 12:49 pm

    Takk fyrir það. Þetta var mjög skemmtilegt verkefni.

  3. February 28, 2009 3:43 pm

    6 in 6 months?????? WOW!

  4. March 1, 2009 12:37 pm

    It was a little stressful in the end…..I’ll admit that!:)

  5. March 28, 2009 6:32 pm

    ótrúlega flott síða hjá þér, gaman að sjá hvað þú ert með á prjónunum. Ég er sjálf á leið í nám í prjónhönnun í danmörku núna í haust… mannstu þegar við sátum saman og prjónuðum lopapeysurnar forðum daga 🙂

    kveðja
    Hrönn

  6. wolfhound permalink
    October 12, 2009 7:11 pm

    Bella: you are the most beautifull !!!!!!!!

  7. January 10, 2010 2:36 pm

    Mjög áhugavert og vel gert. Til hamingju með barnið ! Ég á 3 dætur:-)

Leave a Reply

