Skip to content

One Sophisticated Baby Boy

December 3, 2013

Thanksgiving day I began knitting the Baby Sophisticate pattern, took a break for a few days and then finished on Sunday.  It only took a few hours to knit, such a simple little thing!  I used lett lopi (lopi light)…..because I have plenty of it and because I just love that particular yarn

This is how much I got done on the first day:

DSC_0148

That’s how quick this thing knits up!  Love it!  Now, it does not look like much on that picture, but wait til you see the next one……….now that is one sophisticated baby cardigan!

DSC_0167

…………that collar just did it for me.  I am so in love with these type of collars, I want  one for myself……I can see it in my near future, something soft and cuddly and cozy with that kind of collar………..it will happen!  Sara from the  SaraCrafts blog pointed this cardigan out to me, and as soon  as I saw it I knew I would want pockets on it.  Then she took it a step further and mentioned  elbow pathces…………and that was it, I knew I had to make it!

As for the buttons, as soon as I began knitting it I started picturing what kind would be perfect, and lucky me………I found them on my first button hunting expedition!

DSC_0174

Only “problem” was, there were only 3 left and I had already made 4 button holes as the pattern called for.  It was so stuck in my head that there had to be 4…………until Jasmin (who was with me) asked why I didn’t just put 3, ” what’s the big deal?  It will look fine mom” (thinking back though, she might just have been tired of hanging around the button aisle with me….).  And a light bulb went on and I realized I could just sew the bottom button-hole closed……..o god, I am so brilliant sometimes! :)

I was really set on these exact buttons, there were no other that I loved as much, so I had to have them.  And I’m glad I didn’t settle with something I wouldn’t be happy with, even though there would have been 4 of them…………better fewer and love them than more I am not that crazy about.

The inside of the pockets are knit with the same brown I used for the elbow patches, I just thought it would make it a little fun………

This is size 6-12 months, I used the free pattern and thought it was excellent!  I plan to go  on Ravelry to check out all the other cardigans made from this pattern, just to see how it looks in different colors and to see if any more interesting modifications have been done.

In other knitting news, I finished up a few hats that I already have photos of and will blog about soon.  Also, I’m going through my yarn for another sweater pattern I am very excited about starting…..cannot wait to start knitting!

Until next time,

Knit Away!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2013 11:44 pm

    Oh I LOVE it! Those buttons suit it perfectly, too. The designer of the Baby Sophisticate sells an adult version of the pattern. How cozy would that be?!

    • December 4, 2013 8:37 am

      I was sooo lucky to find the buttons I had pictured on it!
      I think this cardigan would look awesome on adults as well, maybe even make the collar extra big…

  2. December 4, 2013 3:55 am

    I LOVE those patches. A beautiful garment.

  3. December 4, 2013 4:55 pm

    Those elbow patches…. SO adorable!

  4. December 7, 2013 2:34 pm

    yndisleg peysa og heppin strákur að fá hana :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 242 other followers

