Skip to content

Bow Ties

November 27, 2013

For a long time I have wanted to knit a tie or a bow tie, especially for my boys, but never made the time for it.  I happen to think that they look very cool!  But I’m sure there are many who do not agree with me on that…..

My friend was looking for a bow tie to go with a shirt she picked out for her 6 month old baby boy and I offered to knit him one……..she was not as excited about it as I was, thought maybe it would look a little lame.  So, really wanting to knit one, I told her I would and that she could then decide for herself……..and that I would not be the least bit offended if she choice not to have him wear it………..I might never knit anything for her son again though!………….just kidding.  But here’s the itty bitty bow tie:

DSC_0019

I find it completely adorable!  I used left over baby wool that’s been in my possession for years, it’s not the blackest black but works well with the shirt, in my humble opinion.  This was a very simple knit, the bow is made up of 3 pieces that were then attached together.  I made a string to go around the neck under the collar, it’s buttoned in the back.  There are 4 button holes just so that it can be used as he (if she wants to use it that is) grows bigger, and I attached two buttons just to make it nice and secure.

Well, now I just have to see if it’s approved my the mommy and send it off if it is……cross my fingers cause I really think it’s cute……

Until next time,

Knit Away!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2013 4:06 pm

    It’s adorable! I would use it.

  2. November 27, 2013 4:13 pm

    yndislega krúttleg og herraleg slaufa! Heppin þessi litli strákur :-) Mínir hafa aldrei viljað ganga með þverslaufur mér til mikillar armæðu þar sem að mig langar einmitt svo mikið að búa svona til handa þeim !

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 242 other followers

