Skip to content

Knits for babies

November 21, 2013

Knitting for babies is rewarding on so many levels.  There is just something about seeing a little one in something hand-made that so much love and care has been put into.  I knit for all my kids while I was pregnant with them and it gave me so much.  To knit for this unborn child that I could feel growing inside me, kicking me!  To never have seen them (sonograms do not count!) and yet feel so much love, what better than to knit them something to connect with them even more.  Awwww, all these memories are coming back to me now.

Of course I still knit for them, but it’s different, still rewarding and lovely.  But now they are these established beings with their own ideas of what to wear, they’ll come to me and ask me for something specific, it’s beautiful!

Now that I am done having babies I got so excited when one of my best friends had a child earlier this year.  I did show pictures of the two sweaters and the hat I made him but now that I have pictures of him wearing them, I really wanted to show you……he is just so precious!

IMG_0503

 

Those eyes and those cheeks!  Too cute, I can’t take it!  He’s just over three months when this one was taken and on the next picture he was just over one month old:

 

IMG_0232

 

This beautiful boy just turned 6 months the other day, so both those sweaters are too small for him, I think he still fits the hat thought.  But it’s time, I have to knit him something else, the fact that he is not wearing anything made by me does not sit well with me.  I have never met him in person, only through skype, and it really saddens me.  To get to hold him and kiss those cheeks is something I wish I could do when ever I felt like it!  But since I can’t, knitting him something will have to do show my love for him.

The question is what?  I don’t want it to be anything too baby-is, he is such a little gentleman and needs something that will fit him just right.  Any suggestions of great patterns for little men would be appreciated!  Until next time,

Knit Away!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2013 5:07 pm

    I’m a sucker for the Baby Sophisticate pattern. Fun, easy, and with the right yarn/button pairing it looks like a little grandpa cardigan. :)

    • November 21, 2013 9:49 pm

      I looked that pattern up on Ravelry and I remember it being one of the patterns I looked at months ago. It is too cute and a bit grandpa ish. Hopefully I have some yarn that will work, it would be perfect for that little man!

      • November 21, 2013 9:52 pm

        If I ever have the opportunity to knit it for a little boy, I’ll probably try adding pockets. :)

      • November 21, 2013 10:01 pm

        That’s exactly what I was thinking!!

      • November 21, 2013 10:03 pm

        :) Right after I sent that comment, I thought “Oooo! And elbow patches!”. Lol

      • November 21, 2013 10:12 pm

        O my god yes!!! I can totally see that! I really want to make it now!

  2. November 21, 2013 6:10 pm

    So cute! Wish I had a pattern idea for you.

    • November 21, 2013 9:39 pm

      Thanks! I know there will not be a problem finding something cute to knit, but making up my mind between all the patterns!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 242 other followers

